Skip to content ↓



Southend SCITT is the lead initial teacher training school for the South Essex Teaching School Alliance. 

An accredited provider of teacher training, the SCITT is based at Southend High School for Girls.  Training takes places across Southend and teacher trainees will experience a variety of schools during their year through the School Direct Programme.

South Essex Teaching School Alliance is a partnership of schools and organisations in Southend, Essex, whose purpose is to provide outstanding education for the young people of Southend and beyond. 

There are 15 members of the Southend SCITT partnership:


Belfairs Academy   Greg Rodulfo Principal & CEO Legra Academy Trust  Bev Williams       01702 509000


St Bernard's High School     Headteacher Tony Sharpe    01702 343583


Cecil Jones Academy    Executive Principal   Bev Williams    01702 440000


Chase High School     Headteacher  Andrew James    01702 354441


The St Christopher School    Headteacher  Jackie Mullan     01702 524193


The Eastwood Academy  Principal  Neil Houchen    01702 524341


The FitzWimarc School     Headteacher  Robert Harris     01268 743884


The King Edmund School     Headteacher   Jonathan Osborn      01702 545771


Lancaster School      Headteacher  Melanie Hall     01702 342543


St Martin's School - Headteacher Mike O'Sullivan   01277 238300


St Nicholas School     Headteacher  June Mitchell    01702 462322


Shoeburyness High School   Headteacher  Mark Scholfield    01702 292286


Southend High School for Boys    Headteacher  Robin Bevan     01702 606200


Southend High School for Girls    Headteacher  Fiona Brierley    01702 588852


St Thomas More High School    Headteacher  Gemma Ackred     01702 344933

Westcliff High School for Girls  Headteacher  Paul Hayman      01702 476026


Canterbury Christ Church University       01227 767700